Made You Look

Snow Storm in Hawaii

Snow Storm in Hawaii

Last night I posted a clever (if I do say so myself!) article – Made You Look – that combined elements of the above eye-catching headline and the concept of Earth Hour. I attempted to officially “publish” it by 8:29PM so I could power down just in time to see the lights go out in the metropolis I was in at the time. Neither happened.

The wireless connection at the cafe/office was causing trouble, preventing me from releasing the article in time. As far as the rest of the city goes, I’m not sure what their excuse was. I can safely say I even saw a few lights actually turn on. Perhaps not the most strategic plan, holding Earth Hour on the eve and on the exact hour that everyone is in the middle of their pre-saturday night prep routine (curling irons, electric razors, tanning beds, etc…). The GTL generation (if you don’t know, you don’t want to) is unlikely to sacrifice their schedule. Perhaps the folks in Sidney Australia who organized this well-intentioned global shin dig could consider Sunday afternoon next year?

After all was said and done, the results of Earth Hour made a difference, even if they didn’t in the grand scheme of things. It’s a subjective opinion. Last year I went on a semi-rant about how even some the most green (claims) cities across the planet not only showed zero signs of energy consumption savings for the hour, but in fact posted slight increases (true). This year, I figured I would flip the positivity energy switch on high (irony?) and focus on the good. There were some fantastic symbolic showcases from across the globe that inspired subsequent efforts on the home front for many. Bathroom lights faded to black and dangling laptop cords were pulled from their sockets. To borrow a couple of lines from last night’s official post – As the altruistic, albeit clichéd, teacher of troubled youth exclaims – “If I can save just one, then it was worth it”. So I’ll take that stance here – if we can save just one light bulb, it was worth it. I also rambled briefly on how Beach Cruisers are a way more awesome form of transportation.

I’d be honored if you hopped on the link over to my post on Earth Hour. Or save your energy, you get the idea either way. 😉

As far as you geocachers go – the satellite screen shot below serves as yet another clue to pin point where the YAHglobal geocache is hidden. Happy hunting!

geocache location

YAHglobal.Com Geocahe Location

Wish You Were Here

Marcus

Categories: Travel | Tags: , , , , | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a comment

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.